The main purpose of a user group is to define which users will receive which threshold alerts.
In user groups, you can do the following actions:
You cannot delete a group, but you can rename it in a way that you know not to choose it. For example, you might rename a group called "Test New Thresholds" to "DEFUNCT - Test New Thresholds".
In threshold alerts for streams and devices, you can do the following user group actions:
- Configure Data Stream Thresholds to set data stream thresholds and define which groups will receive alerts when the thresholds are exceeded.
- Manage Device Technical Alerts to set device thresholds, get a list of all defined alerts, and define which groups will receive alerts when the thresholds are exceeded.
- Define a Threshold’s Alert Recipients.